why i love to serve a meal

there’s something about seeing a table full of wonderful food being enjoyed by smiling people. it warms my heart! i sometimes think that this was maybe my purpose in life and in a way it’s really is…it’s everyone’s purpose…

IMG_1425IMG_1428IMG_1430we are all called serve others. for some that’s on the mission field, other’s it may be watching their children or washing their husband’s dirty laundry. for still others it could be working in retail or serving coffee.

for my dad it was working day in to day out to put food on the table for his ten children. and for my mom it was raising us children and making what little we had go the farthest.

i had two of the greatest examples of true servants in my parents; unselfish, selfless, christ-centered, loving service.

in my life when i’m the happiest and when i get the most fulfillment out of a simple day is when i serve or give of myself to others. in this time of my life it’s, more often than not, in the form of food or a meal.

i love it when my hands are all covered in flour and i’m rolling out the pie crust, just thinking of the smiles i’ll see spread across the face of the recipient. this alone, has kept me up til the wee hours of the morning just so i could pull a perfectly baked loaf out of the oven to surprise a friend with.

god has given me so much. a love for cooking and also a love for serving. the two combined are very beautiful and make my simple life worthwhile.

what gift has god given you? does it pair well with a type of serving that leaves you feeling better about others?

Leave a Reply

